Class of 2017 Students Honored with Awards & Scholarships

Congratulations to the following Colorado Academy graduating seniors who will be attending college on merit scholarships. To date, these include the honors and awards that have been reported to CA’s College Office.

Bridget Anderson will attend High Point University on a Presidential Scholarship.

Sophie Cannon will attend MICA on a Presidential Scholarship and a Creative Vision Award Scholarship.

Mollie Cantor will be attending Lafayette College on a Marquis Scholarship.

Harper Ellsworth will be attending University of Redlands next year on an Achievement Award Scholarship.

Spencer Garcia will attend CU-Boulder with the White Antelope Memorial Scholarship, the CU Legacy Award, and the Miramontes Arts & Sciences Award.

Arianna Goldman will attend Washington University of St. Louis on the Kenneth E. Hudson merit Scholarship.

Claire Greydanus was accepted into the Honors College at Morrissey College of Arts and Sciences at Boston College where she will attend school this fall. She was also awarded a “Never Forgotten Scholarship” from the Denver Foundation; twelve of these awards are given out each year in honor of the 12 Columbine school shooting victims.

Hope Hendry will attend Occidental College as an Honors Scholar.

Ethan Jazsewski will be attending Cal Tech next year and was selected as a winner of a Corporate-Sponsored National Merit Scholarship (Nelson F. Peterson Scholarship, sponsored by Genentech, Inc.).

Ben Johnston will attend Montana State University on a Scholarship Achievement Award.

Maggie Jones will attend MICA on a Creative Vision Award Scholarship and an Academic Honors Scholarship.

Nathan Keplinger will attend Trinity University on a Trustees Scholarship and a Trinity Legacy Endowment Scholarship.

Bobby Kidder will attend University College of Dublin in Ireland with a Global Scholar Award.

Julia Lammens will attend Montana State University on an Academic Achievement Award Scholarship.

Christian Luskey will attend Montana State University on a Scholarship Award.

Matthew MacPhail will attend the University of Michigan next year and was admitted into their Honors Program.

Sarah Masinter received a congressional nomination from Representative Ed Perlmutter and has now been appointed to the United States Air Force Academy, where she will also be a member of the USAF women’s soccer team. To win an appointment to a US Service Academy, students must be of good moral character and meet high leadership, academic, physical and medical standards.

Tyler McCoy will attend DePauw University on two separate merit scholarships. He was also accepted into an Honors Program at DePauw named Management Fellows.

Grace Minton will attend Eckerd College on a Trustee Academy Scholarship.

Brison Mondry will attend Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology next year and is among fewer than 40 incoming freshmen selected for the Fast Track Calculus Program.

Karl Neserke will attend Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University in Arizona on a Presidential Scholarship.

Bryce Okazaki will attend Washington State University on a Cougar Academic Award, along with an additional Engineering Merit Scholarship.

Sophia Schlager will attend Tulane University on a Founders Scholarship.

SunHee Seo will be attending the University of Southern California on a Presidential Scholarship, a University Scholarship, and has been offered a Thematic Option (Honors interdisciplinary studies program).

Sophie Sileo will attend the University of Vermont on a Presidential Scholarship.
Kelsey Stone will attend the College of Wooster on a Dean’s Scholarship.

Bridget Sutter will attend the University of Tampa on a merit and athletic scholarship to play on their women’s lacrosse team.

Tyrone Thompson will attend Cornell College in Iowa on a Dean’s Award and has been offered a spot on their men’s basketball roster. In addition, the City of Lakewood has given him a one-time scholarship for coaching youth, and the Belmar PTA awarded him an alumni scholarship.

Nellie Turnage will attend Davidson College on a merit scholarship for field hockey.

Olivia White will be attending Lehigh University next year and has been admitted into the school’s dual enrollment program with both the College of Engineering and College of Business called CSB (Computer Science and Business.)