2018-2019 Upper School Awards


Every year, Colorado Academy faculty spend a great deal of time deliberating about who should receive the Upper School Awards, which were announced at the Upper School Awards Assembly on May 24, 2019. These awards recognize the most outstanding achievements of CA students in academics, arts, athletics, and leadership.

Within each department, faculty seek to recognize excellence and perseverance and also honor and celebrate the values that are embodied in CA’s mission statement, which features key phrases like “lifelong learners” and “trusting and respectful relationships.” The Upper School Awards program underscores CA’s commitment to its guiding principles and values.

Head of School Dr. Mike Davis presents the Courage Award to Senior Emilio Teran.

Courage Award: Emilio Teran

Jennifer Wu Memorial Fellowship Award: Jasmine Bilir and Kayleigh Milligan

Chris Babbs Leadership Award: Aly Gallagher, Mac Behrhorst

Peggycita Award: Walt Jones, Hayden Wolfe, Caroline Koclanes, Alyvia Gonzales

Griggs Dayton World Language Award: Avery Lin, Lauren McKee, Salman Husain

Global Citizen Award: Mharie Brigham

Conservatory of Theatre Acting Award: Sophie Berger, Rachel Harris

Conservatory of Theatre Technical Theatre Award: Phoebe Cannon

Music Department Award: Tristan Hall, Bryce Harvey

Carl and David Kumpe Instrumental Award: Caroline Koclanes, Ari Fierer

Conservatory of Dance Award: Natalie Gordon

Outstanding Achievement in Performing Arts: Justin Ferrugia

Studio Art Award: Makayla Sileo

Photography Award: Maire McHugh, Lucy Myers

Dr. Brigitte Debord presented the Peggycita Award to Caroline Koclanes

Upper School French teacher Dr. Brigitte Debord presented the Peggycita Award to Caroline Koclanes.

Digital Video Award: Alexandra Ford, Michael Colpack

Social Studies Award for Academic Excellence: Mason Smith

Pat Hogan Award: Sachin Mehta

Senior Science Award: Gretchen Carpenter

Underclassman Science Award: Cooper Kofron

English Department Award: Richter Jordaan, Makayla Sileo

Richard Kelly Award: Alex Kim, Peter Schmid

Sue Burleigh presented the Jennifer Wu Memorial Fellowship Award to Jasmine Bilir and Kayleigh Milligan

Alumni Director Sue Burleigh presented the Jennifer Wu Memorial Fellowship Award to Jasmine Bilir (L) and Kayleigh Milligan.

Math Department Award: Jane Doherty

Computer Science Award: Alex Kim

ACSL Top Scorers: Alena Holbert, Richter Jordaan, Alex Kim, and Will Smart

NCWIT Recognition: Jasmine Bilir, Jane Doherty, Jordan Davidson, Alex Foreman, Aly Gallagher, Zoe Worrall

Simms Alumni Award: Story Wolf-Tinsman, Cleo Smith, Mac Behrhorst

Senior Athlete of the year: Aly Gallagher, Emmett Ela

Zach Hills Award: Sloane Murphy, Conner Brook

To download a full-size image, hover on the photo and right click. Select “Save Link As” and choose a location on your computer. At this time, you cannot download the images on a mobile device.